Library & E-Library

About Our Library

St. Xavier’s College library established in 1963 at the inception of the institution, a centre for scholarly and investigative work.  The library is a veritable treasure trove of textbooks, reference books,  periodicals, bound volumes of periodicals,  in its extensive collection. As well as newspapers, educational CDs and DVDs  part of its collection for staff and students to use.

Library timings – 8.30 A.M to 4.30 PM

Circulation Counter time  – 8.45 AM to 3.45 PM

Night Reference for UG and PG Students between – 3.45 PM to 4.15 PM

Introduction to Library

Library is the Heart of an educational Institution. Library is an Institution that exists to serve the information to the users. College library stimulates the students to obtain, evaluate and recognize knowledge and to familiarize oneself with the trends of knowledge for further education and learning new disciplines.

St. Xavier’s College is located in  Block D – Arts and Management. It offers readers a roomy hallway. Any book can be procured through the KOHA Library Management Software.  Direct access to the book shelves is made possible by the Open Access System, and all transactions are done electronically. Via LAN, internet browsing capabilities are also offered.

Library Collection

Books: 73514

Journals: 61

Magazines: 51

News Papers:

  • Local: 09
  • National: 05

Database: 02

Library Committee

  • (Dr.) Blanche Mascarenhas – Chairman
  • Dakshata Zambulkar – Member Secretary
  • Ursula Boretto – Member
  • Manoj Salgaonkar – Member
  • B. C. Nair – Member
  • Sumina Da Costa – Member
  • D. M. Jakati – Member
  • Vinita Agarwadekar – Member
  • Eulalia Fernandes – Member
  • Vrunda Kelkar – Member
  • Claudette Gomes -Member
  • Aquilla Alphonso


Computerized self-check in and checkout

Automated Circulation Counter

WIFI in Library

CCTV Surveillance System



NLIST Consortium  |  DELNET Digital Library

Reprography / Scanning / Printing

Night Reference

Rare Books Section

Donation Section

Library OPAC


  • Keep your wet umbrellas and raincoats outside the library door during monsoon.
  • Do not keep any valuables at the luggage counter.
  • Every user has to Check IN and Check OUT while entry and exit from the Library at counter 1
  • First-year students and those joining from other colleges for the second and third years are eligible to become a member of the library.
  • Keep books on the Big Table placed opposite to library counter after reference.
  • Library issues 02 books per student for 7 days and 25 books per teacher for one year.
  • Books not returned within the due date will attract a fine of 5/- per day.
  • Lectures, discussions, explanations, and coaching in the Library are strictly restricted.
  • Make proper use of the reading tables and chairs without disturbing the arrangements.
  • Strict silence should be observed within the library. No Phone calls. Mobile phones should be on silent or vibration mode only.


  • Display of information on Chandrayaan-3 as a current awareness service..
  • Session on “How to use e-resources”.
  • National Level E Quiz on the topic ChatGPT.
  • Annual Book Exhibition
  • Virtual Newspaper Clipping Display
  • National level webinar on “Plagiarism: What it is? How to Avoid and penalties in India”.


National Digital Library of India (NDLI) Club are initiatives of Ministry of Education (MOE), Govt. of India. NDLI Club is single window for learning platform to engage learners and promote effective utilization of NDLI’s resources through competition, training sessions and workshop.



  1. – Rare Book Society of India
  2. – Project Gutenberg
  3. – Library Genesis
  4. – Open Library
  5. – Librivox
  6. – NISCPR
  7. – NCERT
  8. – Springer
  9. – SSRN
  10. – CORE – Aggregating the world’s open access research papers
  11. – Directory of Open Access to Journals
  12. – Online Newspapers
  13. : A Reservoir of Indian Theses
  14. – Shodhgangotri: Repository of research in Progress and PG Dissertation


College Librarian

Ms. Dakshata Zambulkar

Librarian Grade I

Mr. Sarvesh Morje

Libarian Grade II

Ms. Lina D’Souza


Mr. Bhanudas Parsekar


Ms. Valancia Triniadade