DBT Star College Scheme

About the Scheme

St. Xavier’s College was awarded the STAR COLLEGE SCHEME by the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India on September 23, 2021. St. Xavier’s College is the first college in North Goa and only the second college in Goa to receive this grant of 123 lakhs. All the eight undergraduate departments of the science stream of the College, namely, Departments of Botany, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Electronics, Mathematics, Microbiology, and Physics are beneficiaries of the Scheme which is for a period of three years.


The Star College Scheme was initiated by DBT in 2008 to support colleges and universities offering undergraduate education to endorse and nurture excellence in science education. This Pan India Schemeenvisages the strengthening of Life Sciences and Biotechnology education and training at the undergraduate level. The programme emphasises critical thinking, ‘hands-on’ experimental work, andholistic training for students. It aims to improve science teaching across the country and hopes to encourage more students to take up higher education in science.

Advisory Committee (2021-2024)

Name of the Faculty Designation / Department
Prof. Blanche Mascarenhas Principal,
St. Xavier’s College, Goa
Dr. Garima Gupta Scientist E
DBT Programme Officer
Dr. V. Arunachalam Principal,
External Expert,
Scientist, ICAR, Goa
Dr. Nandini Fernandes External Expert,
Associate Professor, Chowgule College, Goa
Ms. Ursula Barreto Head,
Department of Microbiology
Dr. Trelita de Sousa DBT Programme Coordinator,
Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology
Mr. Pradeep Morajkar Associate Professor, Department of Physics
Dr. Wendy Martins Associate Professor, Department of Botany
Ms. Vilma Fernandes Associate Professor, Department of Electronics
Mr. Gajanan Parab Assistant Professor, Department of  Mathematics
Mr. Caje Pinto Assistant Professor, Department of  Electronics
Ms. Prajoti Chimulkar Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science
Mr. Siddhesh Menon Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology
Dr. Marielou Ferrao Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology
Ms. Flavia Travasso Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry
Ms Jocelyn Fernandes Assistant Professor, Department of Biotechnology